Cloning a video

    Follow

    Introduction

    The Screen9 account console allows you to clone a video either as a duplicate video in the same account or as a new video in another account. This feature is particularly useful for sharing content between for example business units in an organisation.

    What does it mean?

    Cloning a video creates a duplicated instance of the video, but without duplicating the storage. For this reason, cloning to a different account can only be performed if the two accounts belong to the same customer. Cloned videos can all be independently used even if the source of the clone has been deleted.

    The cloning of a video will duplicate the following information:

    • Preload image
    • Title
    • Description
    • Tags
    • Category (if possible otherwise default)

    Note that there is no synchronisation of meta data after the cloning has completed. 

    Requirements

    The cloning feature follows the logic of the role permissions for users. This means that if you have permissions to add media to an account, you can also clone media into that account. Likewise, if you have the right to update your media you can also clone it.

    Cloning a video

    To clone a video, click the "clone media" button located just below the videoplayer on the edit video page. This will open a popup dialog where you will be asked to select the account where the clone should be created and also a checkbox indicating that you wish to navigate to the new video after cloning.

    See screenshots showing the clone media button and the clone media dialogue.

    clone_media.png

    clone_dialogue.png

    Was this article helpful?
    0 out of 0 found this helpful

    Comments

    • Avatar
      Per Sirén

      Fick följande felmeddelande efter kloning: "The video could not be played due to unavailability or network problems. (hls, code: 4)."